S

Salem University

Salem, West Virginia — 223 W Main St, 26426

Annual Tuition $10,750
Enrollment 695
Acceptance Rate N/A
Median Salary $34,642

Salem University is a leading Private for-profit institution located in Salem, West Virginia. Established to provide high-quality education, Salem University offers a range of programs and is recognized for its commitment to student success and academic excellence in the United States region.

Salem University Quick Facts
Federal Aid Approval 12/1/1965
Location Salem, West Virginia
Type Private for-profit
Total Enrollment 695 students
Median Salary $34,642

Salem University — Institution Overview

Institution Name Salem University
Location Salem, West Virginia
Official Website https://www.salemu.edu/
Address 223 W Main St
Salem, WV 26426
Institution Type Private for-profit
Total Students 695

Salem University Admissions Process

Acceptance Rate Not Reported
Avg. SAT Score N/A
ACT Midpoint N/A

Salem University Tuition Fees and Costs

In-State Tuition $10,750
Out-of-State Tuition $13,750
Pell Grant Rate 51.4%
Median Debt (Completers) $24,694

Major Spotlight

Top programs by early-career earnings from this institution.

Top 3 by early salary

Based on median earnings two years after graduation from Salem University, using U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard data.

1

Educational Administration and Supervision. salary after Salem University

Post-baccalaureate Certificate
Strong earning
2yr salary $57,705 median/yr
Median debt $17,125 at graduation
Salary/debt 337% ROI ratio
1yr: $61,801 4yr: $65,576
2

Curriculum and Instruction. salary after Salem University

Master's Degree
Strong earning
2yr salary $52,643 median/yr
Median debt Not published program debt data
Salary/debt Salary-led debt data unavailable
1yr: $55,065 4yr: $63,972
3

Business Administration, Management and Operations. salary after Salem University

Master's Degree
Steady earning
2yr salary $41,342 median/yr
Median debt Not published program debt data
Salary/debt Salary-led debt data unavailable
1yr: $56,486 4yr: $50,385

Salary data reflects U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard reporting.

Salem University Acceptance Rate and Enrollment Statistics

Acceptance rate data is not reported for Salem University in the current Department of Education dataset.

Total Students 695
Undergrad 496
Retention Rate 52% full-time
Full-Time Students 91.2%

Courses and Academic Programs at Salem University

10 programs
Program Name
Degree
Graduates
Business Administration, Management and Operations.
Bachelor's
Graduates 162
Business Administration, Management and Operations.
Associate's
Graduates 124
Business Administration, Management and Operations.
Master's
Graduates 120
Educational Administration and Supervision.
Graduate/Professional Certificate
Graduates 74
Educational Administration and Supervision.
Master's
Graduates 52
Criminal Justice and Corrections.
Bachelor's
Graduates 51
Criminal Justice and Corrections.
Associate's
Graduates 35
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.
Associate's
Graduates 29
Curriculum and Instruction.
Master's
Graduates 23
Computer and Information Sciences, General.
Bachelor's
Graduates 20
Showing top 10 of 21 programs by graduates

Career Opportunities and Alumni Network at Salem University

Median Salary (10 yrs after entry) $34,642 U.S. Dept. of Education
Median (6 yrs) $31,612
Graduation Rate 27.3% 4-year (150%)
4-Year Graduation Rate
Graduate Earnings Timeline — Salem University
Timeframe After Entry Median Earnings
6 Years After Entry $31,612
10 Years After Entry $34,642
Is Salem University Worth It? — ROI Analysis 2026
Average Net Price $14,469
Median Career Earnings (10 yrs) $34,642
3-Year Loan Repayment Rate 75700%

Campus Life and Student Facilities at Salem University

Total Students 695
Undergrad 496
Graduate 199
Retention Rate 52% full-time

Gender Breakdown

57.4%
42.6%
Women Men

Enrollment Type

Full-time 91.2%
Full-time Part-time

Diversity & Ethnicity

White
54%
Black
14.4%
International
13.7%
Unknown / Unreported
9.9%
Hispanic
5.6%
American Indian / Alaska Native
0.7%
Asian
0.7%
Two or More Races
0.7%
Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander
0.3%

Campus Demographics

🎂
Avg. Age at Entry 30
🎓
First-Generation 54%
💰
Receive Pell Grant 80.1%
🎖️
Veterans 1.3%
💍
Married Students 22.5%
📅
Students Age 25+ 48.8%
🔄
Retention (Part-time) 2.3%

Student Economic Background

Median Household Income $51,416
Average Family Income $29,612
Median Family Income $19,775

Faculty Profile

Faculty Gender

48.2%
51.9%
Women Men
Student-Faculty Ratio 16:1 students per faculty member

Scholarships and Grants at Salem University

Salem University participates in federal financial aid programs. The data below is sourced from the U.S. Department of Education and reflects the most recently available award year. Students should contact the financial aid office directly for current scholarship opportunities, institutional grants, and merit-based awards.

Pell Grant Rate 51.4% of students
Federal Loan Rate 66.8% of students
Avg Net Price $14,469 after aid
Median Debt $24,694 completers

Average Net Price by Family Income

Income Bracket Net Price / Year

Student Debt Overview

Median Debt — Completers $24,694
Cumulative Debt — 25th Percentile $4,750
Cumulative Debt — 75th Percentile $16,226

Financial aid availability, grant amounts, and scholarship criteria change each award year. Contact Salem University's financial aid office or visit the official website for current deadlines and eligibility requirements.

Salem University Rankings and Accreditation

Institution Type Private for-profit
Geographic Region United States
Title IV Federal Aid Approval 12/1/1965
4-Year Graduation Rate 27.3%
Median Graduate Salary $34,642
Data Source U.S. Department of Education — College Scorecard & IPEDS (2026)

Institutional accreditation status is maintained by regional and national accrediting bodies recognized by the U.S. Department of Education. Federal Title IV approval (above) confirms Salem University meets eligibility requirements for federal student aid programs including Pell Grants, Direct Loans, and work-study.

Housing and Campus Location for Salem University

Frequently Asked Questions about Salem University

What is the acceptance rate at Salem University?

Acceptance rate data for Salem University is not reported in the 2026 U.S. Department of Education dataset.

How much is tuition at Salem University?

Tuition at Salem University is $10,750 per year. Net price and financial aid options may reduce this cost significantly depending on individual circumstances.

What is the average salary for graduates of Salem University?

Graduates of Salem University earn a median salary of $34,642 per year, based on 2026 U.S. Department of Education earnings data.

Where is Salem University located?

Salem University is located at 223 W Main St, Salem, West Virginia 26426. The campus is situated in the United States region of the United States.

Contact Facts

Data sourced from 2026 US Dept. of Ed

View Methodology & E-E-A-T Compliance