Prairie State College
Chicago Heights, Illinois — 202 South Halsted Street, 60411-8226
Prairie State College is a leading Public institution located in Chicago Heights, Illinois. Established to provide high-quality education, Prairie State College offers a range of programs and is recognized for its commitment to student success and academic excellence in the United States region.
| Federal Aid Approval | 5/1/1967 |
|---|---|
| Location | Chicago Heights, Illinois |
| Type | Public |
| Total Enrollment | 2,448 students |
| Median Salary | $36,696 |
Prairie State College — Institution Overview
| Institution Name | Prairie State College |
|---|---|
| Location | Chicago Heights, Illinois |
| Official Website | https://prairiestate.edu/ |
| Address | 202 South Halsted Street Chicago Heights, IL 60411-8226 |
| Institution Type | Public |
| Total Students | 2,448 |
Prairie State College Admissions Process
Prairie State College Tuition Fees and Costs
| In-State Tuition | $4,176 |
|---|---|
| Out-of-State Tuition | $11,064 |
| Pell Grant Rate | 35.6% |
| Median Debt (Completers) | $11,000 |
The Real Cost
Average net price after aid, grouped by household income.
Prairie State College cost by family income
These are the average out-of-pocket costs after grants and scholarships, based on U.S. Department of Education reporting.
Low-income families under $30k pay an average of $3,725 per year. This band often benefits most from Pell Grants and institutional aid.
Opens the official Federal Student Aid Estimator.
Major Spotlight
Top programs by early-career earnings from this institution.
Based on median earnings two years after graduation from Prairie State College, using U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard data.
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing. salary after Prairie State College
Associate's DegreeDental Support Services and Allied Professions. salary after Prairie State College
Associate's DegreeLiberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities. salary after Prairie State College
Associate's DegreeSalary data reflects U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard reporting.
Prairie State College Acceptance Rate and Enrollment Statistics
Acceptance rate data is not reported for Prairie State College in the current Department of Education dataset.
Courses and Academic Programs at Prairie State College
10 programsCareer Opportunities and Alumni Network at Prairie State College
| Timeframe After Entry | Median Earnings |
|---|---|
| 6 Years After Entry | $30,388 |
| 10 Years After Entry | $36,696 |
| Average Net Price | $5,280 |
|---|---|
| Median Career Earnings (10 yrs) | $36,696 |
| 3-Year Loan Repayment Rate | 112700% |
Campus Life and Student Facilities at Prairie State College
Gender Breakdown
Enrollment Type
Diversity & Ethnicity
Campus Demographics
Student Economic Background
| Median Household Income | $67,449 |
| Average Family Income | $27,572 |
| Median Family Income | $19,756 |
Faculty Profile
Faculty Gender
Scholarships and Grants at Prairie State College
Prairie State College participates in federal financial aid programs. The data below is sourced from the U.S. Department of Education and reflects the most recently available award year. Students should contact the financial aid office directly for current scholarship opportunities, institutional grants, and merit-based awards.
Average Net Price by Family Income
| Income Bracket | Net Price / Year |
|---|
Student Debt Overview
| Median Debt — Completers | $11,000 |
| Cumulative Debt — 25th Percentile | $3,000 |
| Cumulative Debt — 75th Percentile | $11,000 |
Financial aid availability, grant amounts, and scholarship criteria change each award year. Contact Prairie State College's financial aid office or visit the official website for current deadlines and eligibility requirements.
Prairie State College Rankings and Accreditation
| Institution Type | Public |
|---|---|
| Geographic Region | United States |
| Title IV Federal Aid Approval | 5/1/1967 |
| Median Graduate Salary | $36,696 |
| Data Source | U.S. Department of Education — College Scorecard & IPEDS (2026) |
Institutional accreditation status is maintained by regional and national accrediting bodies recognized by the U.S. Department of Education. Federal Title IV approval (above) confirms Prairie State College meets eligibility requirements for federal student aid programs including Pell Grants, Direct Loans, and work-study.
Housing and Campus Location for Prairie State College
Frequently Asked Questions about Prairie State College
What is the acceptance rate at Prairie State College?
Acceptance rate data for Prairie State College is not reported in the 2026 U.S. Department of Education dataset.
How much is tuition at Prairie State College?
Tuition at Prairie State College is $4,176 per year. Net price and financial aid options may reduce this cost significantly depending on individual circumstances.
What is the average salary for graduates of Prairie State College?
Graduates of Prairie State College earn a median salary of $36,696 per year, based on 2026 U.S. Department of Education earnings data.
Where is Prairie State College located?
Prairie State College is located at 202 South Halsted Street, Chicago Heights, Illinois 60411-8226. The campus is situated in the United States region of the United States.
Popular in Illinois
Contact Facts
-
Phone Number Available on Official Site
-
Website https://prairiestate.edu/
-
Annual Tuition $4,176
Similar Schools in Illinois
Will you qualify for aid at
Prairie State College?
Estimate your grants and loans with our 2026 data tool.
Calculate Your AidData sourced from 2026 US Dept. of Ed
View Methodology & E-E-A-T Compliance